MEET MY FRIEND: HANNAH BUSHELL

What time is it?

It’s Hannah Bushell time!

(Chico, eat you heart out)

I met Hannah at the beginning of 2019 as we were both hired as the Assistant Managers at a new boutique charity shop. Hannah has such a good eye and is brilliant at visual merchandising. She is also talented at making and repairing things and always looks cool af. Unlike me, she is a natural in front of the camera and has the patience of a saint when helping me to take photos for work, as well as for fun outside of work (I’m not sure why she subjects herself to this, but I appreciate it). As well as being really kind, empathetic and supportive, Hannah also loves sustainable fashion and spends a lot of her spare time rummaging around charity shops so it’s inevitable that we’d be more than colleagues!

Tell us a little about yourself.

My names Hannah Bushell, I’m 28 and I’m from the LDN. I have lived in London most of my life except for when I went to uni in Nottingham. I literally love London so much! It’s so diverse and you can be you! I work in charity retail (which is where I met my gurl…Queenie), I used to be a stylist, a makeup artist and a props maker. I enjoy swimming (which I miss a lot at the moment). I am very creative and love making things! I did the make up on this short film:

It’s currently week 6 of the UK lockdown, how are you doing and what are you doing to keep yourself occupied?

I’ve actually just moved so I have been quite busy with that, I’m quite thankful to have something to do to keep my mind busy at the moment. I have been trying to get fit as well so I have been running nearly every other day. I also have a massive pile of clothes that I needed to mend so I am using this opportunity to try and slowly make my way through this gigantic pile.

What are you most looking forward to doing when freedom is upon us again?

Ahh… there’s a few things. As I’ve just moved, I would love my friends to come visit and see the new place. I also want to eat out, I miss doing this! I also really want to travel somewhere, maybe abroad or if not, go to visit places in England (there’s still so many places I’ve never been to within England).

What did you want to be when you were younger?

I wanted to be a fashion designer… because I love clothes and expressing myself through what I wear. I guess I still work within fashion in a way and I work in the sustainable fashion industry…so even better!

What is your proudest achievement?

I guess I should say having had epilepsy and that I came out the other end alright haha. I developed it when I was 13. At my worst times I was having 8 fits every day and 10 fits every night, I was admitted into hospital where they did tests and case studies on me. I had a very rare and unusual type of epilepsy that they hadn’t seen before. The trickiest part for me was not having the fits it was actually the medication I was on, it was horrible! It would slow me down so much and I would also feel so ill from the meds and really spaced out, almost like I wasn’t in my own body.

After finding the right medication that controlled the fits, I stayed on it for 7 years and I had had brain scans that showed no unusual brain activity, so I made the decision to come off my meds… this was a weird experience in itself. I had gotten so used to my brain slowing down so much that I was feeling all these intense emotions and feelings (this took me some time to get used to).

It is still uncertain whether it will come back or not but I tell myself I can’t live in fear of this, if it happens it happens. So I guess I am proud of myself for having gone through such a crazy experience and I am doing good! I still have certain side effects from having epilepsy/ taking medication. But having had this experience and having to re learn how to laugh at things again has been crazy and I am thankful for it because it has made me who I am today.

What is your earliest memory?

I remember going to an old lady’s flat in our block where my mum would clean, and my mum would carry me in one of those tartan washing bags, I used to love it. This must have been when my mum was working part time and doing odd cleaning jobs to try and pay the rent, I must have been around 2 maybe.

If money was no object, what would you do all day?

I think I would still work. I don’t think I could sit around all day doing nothing! I would love to travel more and experience more. I guess it would allow me to sort out a better work life balance in a way because I wouldn’t be worried about money all the time. Maybe I would set up my own business or work for charity…

What’s the best gift you’ve been given?

Hmmm… I guess this is cheesy but my brother. We get along so well! He can be annoying but we have a great bond. He is so talented and he will go far!

If you could go back in time to change one thing, what would it be?

I like to say I wouldn’t go back and change anything because I believe everything happens for a reason (I know, a cliché) but I really do believe you learn and grow from everything you do and go through in life!

Where do you see yourself in five years time?

I would love to own my own place! A dream of mine is to build my own place… but I live in London so that dream is dashed! Haha! But seriously I would like to be on my way to owning my own place and to feel more financially secure. I would like to have created some great memories with friends and family.

What’s the most daring thing you’ve ever done?

I swam with sharks in Malaysia. If you know me, you’ll know I am shit scared of sharks and the sea (even though I love swimming and I am a great swimmer). I don’t really know how I managed to summon the courage but somehow I did. I thought it would make me overcome my fear…I am still scared of sharks and the sea!

Do you collect anything?

I used to collect lots of weird things like, a broken pedal from a holiday I had with my friends. But recently I have tried to declutter and get rid of stuff that doesn’t really ‘bring me joy’. I guess you could say I collect plants and homeware.

If you were the ruler of your own country, what would be the first law you would introduce?

I think I would put a cap on house prices and renting so everyone could afford to live somewhere decent. And better wages for lower paid jobs. One of my friends said she would give everyone a standard wage from the government so that everyone had the ability to afford to live, I quite like this idea so maybe I would steal it!

What’s the most interesting thing that you can see out of your window right now?

One magpie… doesn’t that mean bad luck?!?!

What’s your most prized possession and why?

My cats… do I need to say more?

Which celebrity would you like to meet at Starbucks for a coffee?

I’m not really into celebrities like they’re just people at the end of the day. Honestly, I’d rather go to get a coffee with a friend.

What’s the silliest argument you’ve ever been in?

I don’t really get into many arguments, I guess I’m quite chill and easy going. I think for me to have an argument it has to be over something quite big! Saying that though when I’m hangry that can be a different matter!

What makes you angry?

I really hate being talked down to and people being patronising to me! I also hate injustices! One of my pet peeves is when someone doesn’t screw lids on bottles/jars properly!

A genie gives you three wishes: what are they?

This is really hard. I try not to want things that I don’t have, but if I had to, I guess:

1. Making sure me, my family and friends are all financially secure.

2. Fairer wages for all!

3. Enough housing for everyone.

What personality traits do you share with your relatives?

Common sense! My mum’s got common sense and so do I. Going to uni really made me realise common sense ain’t that common!

Which of your personality traits are you most proud of and why?

I am very empathetic and I can read people really well! I sometimes used to think this was a flaw because I would take on other peoples’ emotions and feelings but as I have grown up I have learnt to not let this affect me. I think being understanding of someone’s feelings is so lovely and you can connect with people on another level.

Ideally, what would you like to do for your birthday this year?

I just want to have all my close friends round me, my family, good food, good drinks and dancing!

What’s your favourite quote from a TV show/film/book?

‘When a finger is pointing to the sky, only a fool looks at the finger’ – Amelie

‘It’s like living on the edge’ – Eva Hesse

What’s the first thing you look for in a partner and/or friend?

Someone caring and loving! And to spur me on and to help me grow!

What is your favourite memory of ours?

Ooh I actually have quite a few…When we were working together at Coal Drops Yard and there was a blackout and we just sat on the window ledge outside the shop and took silly photos together, and we were excited because we thought it meant we could go home early and then the power came back on. Also just working with you is so fun and I really do miss it!

Favourites

Animal: Cats, I have two. Kiki and Luna who are mumma and daughter.

Season: It always used to be winter/autumn but more recently I love summer, I love the fact you can go to the park with your mates and stay out late and not need a coat.

TV series: At the moment I really like Killing Eve,

Film: Amelie, I have loved this film since I was like 15.

Drink: Coke Zero…I know it’s really bad for me :/

Food: This is too hard…I love a lot of food (obviously vegetarian). I love ramen, sushi, pad thai, pizza, pasta, cake, jacket potato with cheese and beans, pie, crumpets, moussaka…there’s too much to name.

Subject at school: Product Design…I love making things! I’m good with my hands haha

Country that you’ve visited: There’s too many! I love Barcelona! Budapest! Mexico! Thailand! Laos! Greece!

Instagram accounts: I’m really into @mimis.garms and her personal account @mia.or.mimi her swag is on point! I now want my hair to grow as long as hers!

Colour: Black…. It’s all I wear!

Hannah is awesome so go and follow her new Instagram account where she serves some killer sustainable fashion looks!

xxx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s